The student news site of The Harker School.

Harker Aquila

The student news site of The Harker School.

Harker Aquila

The student news site of The Harker School.

Harker Aquila

An illustration of a can of Harkers Condensed Tomato Soup. Harker Aquilas assistant opinions editor Jessica Wang shares a ranking of the best five soups.
Friday Five: A definitive soup ranking
by Jessica Wang, Assistant Opinions Editor • January 20, 2023
Cake thrown at the Mona Lisa, soup splashed onto Van Gogh, body parts glued next to paintings, shouts of, “What is worth more, art or life?” Such protests may or may not be necessary to draw attention to global climate change issues.
Perspectives: Extent of artivism
by Ananya Sriram and Hima Thota December 23, 2022
Every year in December, I marvel at the beauty and festiveness of the glittering lights, but that joy is always tainted by a shadow of impending doom — the holiday season is not the only season that happens at this time of year.
It’s the most stressful time of the year
by Margaret Cartee, Opinions Editor • December 19, 2022
I was willing to try ballet as something I hadn’t done before, yet the “absurdity” of a male ballet dancer was also deeply ingrained in my mind. Once I discovered that ballet spoke to me in a different way than other genres, I decided to let my passion guide me.
Jetéing over gender stereotypes as a male ballet dancer
by Anwen Hao, Assistant Multimedia Editor • December 1, 2022
With suicide in the top three leading causes of death amongst teenagers, it’s alarming that we are so used to hearing these words that we don’t notice them anymore. These jokes trivialize suicidal thoughts and imply that this problem is commonplace, normal and even insignificant.
Editorial: Insensitive jokes harm environment
by Editorial Board November 30, 2022
In the aftermath of countless mass shootings and an intrusion on our own campus, we cannot be passive bystanders and wait for a more dangerous situation to happen to us in order to enact change. Our system for responding to school shootings needs an update.
Editorial: Responses for school safety require an update
by Editorial Board September 14, 2022
By grounding ourselves in the reality of the situation in Ukraine, we can work towards concrete actions to help those affected. Even though the conflict takes place overseas, we can still make a difference from here.
Editorial: Fighting from home with support and action
by Editorial Board March 25, 2022
With speculation and rumors spreading faster than the omicron variant itself, tension permeates the campus atmosphere, as empty seats dot classrooms and lunchtime conversations detail the friends who are quarantining in their rooms. In total, 48 students and 16 staff members have tested positive since the start of the school year. 
Editorial: We need answers
by Editorial Board January 15, 2022
View All
An illustration of the Halloween and Thanksgiving holidays. Aquila reporters Margaret Cartee and Angelina Burrows debate which holiday reigns superior.
Perspectives: Fall-ing for fall holidays
by Margaret Cartee and Angelina Burrows November 10, 2022
An image of cosmic cliffs in the Carina Nebula, taken by NASAs James Webb Space Telescope. With more and more technologies pushing the limits of space exploration, two Harker Aquila writers argue for the pros and cons of exploring our universe.
Perspectives: Soaring into space
August 28, 2022
Perspectives: Does grind culture provide gain or strain?
Perspectives: Does grind culture provide gain or strain?
by Margaret Cartee, Kinnera Mulam • February 24, 2022
Perspectives: From sea to shining sea, battling for the best coast
Perspectives: From sea to shining sea, battling for the best coast
by Esha Gohil and Nicole Tian November 27, 2021
View All
With suicide in the top three leading causes of death amongst teenagers, it’s alarming that we are so used to hearing these words that we don’t notice them anymore. These jokes trivialize suicidal thoughts and imply that this problem is commonplace, normal and even insignificant.
Editorial: Insensitive jokes harm environment
by Editorial Board November 30, 2022

Content warning: This article mentions suicide. For free and confidential support, call the Suicide and Crisis Lifeline at 988. Discussions...

An illustration of the Halloween and Thanksgiving holidays. Aquila reporters Margaret Cartee and Angelina Burrows debate which holiday reigns superior.
Perspectives: Fall-ing for fall holidays
by Margaret Cartee and Angelina Burrows November 10, 2022

The facade of the perfect life on social media has never been more common or easier to create. Although we’re all aware of these unrealistic standards, seeing other peoples’ ‘perfect’ lives on our feeds still takes a toll on our mental health. Apps such as TikTok and Instagram only worsen the problem with filters and growing concerns over likes and followers.
Collectively escaping the social media trap
by Editorial Board October 19, 2022

An app that calls itself authentic, original and unique. An app that captures the happenings of everyday life. An app that has no likes or filters....

An illustration of history textbooks. When we deliberate contrasting viewpoints as well as the hard facts of the situation, we develop better understandings of each other and a more complete view of the world.
Forbidden history impacts our lives. We should talk about it.
by Isabella Lo, Reporter • October 16, 2022

Trigger warning: This article includes discussion about human deaths, racial injustice, the Tuskegee syphilis experiment and the Tulsa race massacre....

In the aftermath of countless mass shootings and an intrusion on our own campus, we cannot be passive bystanders and wait for a more dangerous situation to happen to us in order to enact change. Our system for responding to school shootings needs an update.
Editorial: Responses for school safety require an update
by Editorial Board September 14, 2022

This June, Harker encountered an unarmed intruder on campus — one of the rare times when a shelter-in-place was not a drill. With this incident...

An image of cosmic cliffs in the Carina Nebula, taken by NASAs James Webb Space Telescope. With more and more technologies pushing the limits of space exploration, two Harker Aquila writers argue for the pros and cons of exploring our universe.
Perspectives: Soaring into space
August 28, 2022

View All
Polls

What are your favorite food spots to eat at across from campus?

View Results

Loading ... Loading ...
Winged Post