The student news site of The Harker School.

Harker Aquila

The student news site of The Harker School.

Harker Aquila

The student news site of The Harker School.

Harker Aquila

Winter brings a particular type of temporary eccentricity to the world. Against the backdrop of sparkling frost and naked trees, the shimmer of light in cold air and all the small things typically ignored shine. Yet, spring brings along the beauty of nature.
Perspectives: Winter vs. spring
by Alison Yang and Jessica Wang May 12, 2023
We can appreciate each others cultures by wearing and displaying it. Wrongly labeling actions as cultural appropriation can have negative consequences.
Cultural appropriation versus appreciation
by Isabella Lo, Co-Opinions Editor • May 11, 2023
AI-generated illustration by Fotor AI with cutouts by Claire Zhao. I have seen a few pieces where the hands are actually decent, but then most of the time theyre kind of just like blobs; they look like sausages, Vika Gautham (10) said.
Not so handy: Why AI art can’t draw hands
by Claire Zhao, Co-STEM Editor • May 4, 2023
For some, the feeling of stress helps motivate them into studying more. For me, it’s a ticking time bomb that’s ready to explode at any moment, which is why I look for ways to relax and reduce any nervousness.
Friday Five: Ways to relax before APs
by Vika Gautham, Co-Features Editor • April 28, 2023
Not only should we accept when others disagree with us, we need to actively seek out other opinions and encourage the sharing of different perspectives. To accomplish this, we need to acknowledge the gaps in our own knowledge and use the resources and people around us to gain a better understanding of our community.
Editorial: Diversity of thought promotes inclusivity
by Editorial Board June 6, 2023
When the main objective for an Advanced Placement (AP) course is completing a final exam, success no longer involves learning or curiosity; instead, success comes in the form of a number between one and five.
Editorial: AP courses undermine students' learning
by Editorial Board March 8, 2023
Although empty space during the day may not seem to help students’ productivity, it actually trains them to allocate their time wisely. In particular, the absence of a mandatory activity during the morning block can shorten the long list of tasks students must complete each day, lessening their burden bit by bit.
Editorial: Leave more open space in schedule
by Editorial Board February 6, 2023
With suicide in the top three leading causes of death amongst teenagers, it’s alarming that we are so used to hearing these words that we don’t notice them anymore. These jokes trivialize suicidal thoughts and imply that this problem is commonplace, normal and even insignificant.
Editorial: Insensitive jokes harm environment
by Editorial Board November 30, 2022
View All
Cake thrown at the Mona Lisa, soup splashed onto Van Gogh, body parts glued next to paintings, shouts of, “What is worth more, art or life?” Such protests may or may not be necessary to draw attention to global climate change issues.
Perspectives: Extent of artivism
by Ananya Sriram and Hima Thota December 23, 2022
An illustration of the Halloween and Thanksgiving holidays. Aquila reporters Margaret Cartee and Angelina Burrows debate which holiday reigns superior.
Perspectives: Fall-ing for fall holidays
by Margaret Cartee and Angelina Burrows November 10, 2022
An image of cosmic cliffs in the Carina Nebula, taken by NASAs James Webb Space Telescope. With more and more technologies pushing the limits of space exploration, two Harker Aquila writers argue for the pros and cons of exploring our universe.
Perspectives: Soaring into space
August 28, 2022
Perspectives: Does grind culture provide gain or strain?
Perspectives: Does grind culture provide gain or strain?
by Margaret Cartee, Kinnera Mulam • February 24, 2022
View All
An illustration of the National Rifle Association of America logo. What questions should we be asking about the NRA and gun violence?
NRA and America: What questions should we be asking?
by Hima Thota, Assistant Sports Editor • March 29, 2023

Content warning: This article mentions gun violence.  “Our Second Amendment is freedom’s most valuable, most cherished, most irreplaceable...

An illustration depicting the damage the two party system does to democracy. More than a quarter of Americans view both parties negatively, bringing into question whether constituent views are truly being heard on the political stage.
Failure of the two party system
by Isabella Lo, Assistant Opinions Editor • March 23, 2023

In the 2020 election between Donald Trump and Joe Biden, my dad found that he could not support either candidate: both Trump and Biden did not...

An illustration demonstrating the cultural taboo on swearing. In today’s culture, so-called ‘swear words’ are simply words relating to the taboo, be it bodily functions, anger, madness or anything else deemed socially uncomfortable.
Tossing out the taboo: profanity’s prohibition preventing progress
by Jessica Wang, Assistant Opinions Editor • March 23, 2023

As students slowly file into a classroom, grouping themselves into pairs and threes along a horse-shoe shaped table facing the blackboard, we...

Savory foods, characterized by rich and complex flavors often achieved through the use of herbs, spices and umami-rich ingredients, have flavors that are deeply satisfying and lend a sense of comfort to those who eat them. Yet, with a versatility of applications, sweet foods also have a variety of tastes, from nutty honey to rich caramel.
Perspectives: Savory vs. sweet
by Jessica Wang and Isabella Lo March 20, 2023

When the main objective for an Advanced Placement (AP) course is completing a final exam, success no longer involves learning or curiosity; instead, success comes in the form of a number between one and five.
Editorial: AP courses undermine students' learning
by Editorial Board March 8, 2023

When the main objective for an Advanced Placement (AP) course is completing a final exam, success no longer involves learning or curiosity; instead,...

An illustration representing various motifs in some of Edgar Allan Poes most famous poems. Many regard Poe as the greatest poet to ever live.
Friday Five: Poe(ms)
by Jonathan Xue, Humans of Harker Profiler • March 8, 2023

Edgar Allan Poe died of consumption. But even a century and a half later, his works continue to gnaw at me; their biting twists and subtle nuance...

View All
Winged Post