Upper school students elect ASB for 2020-2021 school year

by Irene Yuan, Asst. Photo Editor

Upper school students elected five juniors to the 2020-2021 Associated Student Body (ASB) council on Tuesday. 

Current junior class president Jason Lin (11) won the position of ASB President against current sophomore class vice president Ayan Nath (10).

Arusha Patil (11), the current junior class vice president, won against Dawson Chen (10), the current sophomore class president, and William Chien (10), the current sophomore class spirit coordinator, for the position of ASB Vice President. 

Next year’s ASB Treasurer will be Andrew Lu (11), the current junior class treasurer, who ran unopposed. Current junior class vice secretary Helen Li (11) won against Sujith Pakala (10) and Benjamin Soraire (11) for ASB Secretary. The ASB Spirit Coordinator for next year will be Calais Poirson (11), the current junior class spirit coordinator, who won against Arjun Virmani (11).

Speeches and voting took place online this year due to the transition to virtual learning last month. The new format for the elections was announced in a message to students from Dean of Students Kevin Williamson on March 23. 

Students watched the campaign speeches with their advisories on Tuesday, and voting was open via OpaVote from 10:15 a.m. to 3:30 p.m the same day. There were 11 candidates this year: seven juniors and four sophomores. Current ASB President Avi Gulati (12) posted the results of the election on Wednesday via a Schoology post to the Upper School Students group.